Author Topic: Website recommendations  (Read 1222 times)

Deebles

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 101
Website recommendations
« on: February 21, 2016, 05:09:49 pm »
Post some of your favorite reading/watching/whatever material. Besides Dragon Realms duh.

I am a big fan of www.mrmoneymustache.com, a blog about the type of person who can retire in their 30s. The blog owner, MMM, espouses that retiring is possible in as little as 7 years, possibly even less if you have a super high powered career. I have a guest post on there. :D

CrystalisRC

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • dragons! dragons everywhere!
Whether we be furry or otherkin, we be all the same

Tysha

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Raaah!
Re: Website recommendations
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2016, 09:37:53 am »
http://www.flightrising.com/ - Registration is currently closed at the moment, but if you're interested in joining I can give you a shout when it re-opens.

Update: Registration will be open March 7-11 (details here). If you do sign up and put me (Tysha) as your referrer, I'll send you some goodies in-game :)
« Last Edit: March 03, 2016, 09:29:31 am by Tysha »

Sendo Shin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • Supreme of the House
    • A Web Site Without A Name
Re: Website recommendations
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2016, 10:34:25 pm »
Can't ever go wrong with xkcd.com.

Also a fan of schlockmercenary.com and girlgeniusonline.com...
Avatar courtesy of Deebles/Darkie, with watermark added by me.

Draco18s

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Website recommendations
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2016, 08:04:40 pm »
I guess I'll just drop http://hpmor.com/ here.

Vellos

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • xor eax, eax
Re: Website recommendations
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2016, 03:42:15 pm »
Got a few across a couple subjects.

High-end tech news: https://news.ycombinator.com/

Good 24/7 international news stream: http://www.france24.com/en/

People hacking together anything and everything: http://hackaday.com/

The top rated PC games in the last 90 days: http://www.metacritic.com/browse/games/score/metascore/90day/pc

Music service without DRM and giving almost all of the money to the artist: https://bandcamp.com/

Redalgo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Website recommendations
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2016, 12:24:02 am »
Flight Rising is fun, Tysha. Thanks for beating me to that one!

Hmm...

I'll avoid offering up sites for the more obscure games I bury my snout into and post these.


Entertainment Media

Altermeta: http://www.altermeta.net/
Dilbert: http://dilbert.com/
Dragon Mail: http://dragonmail.fadri.org/index.php?lg=en
Oglaf: http://oglaf.com/
Order of the Stick: http://www.giantitp.com/
Scandinavia and the World: http://satwcomic.com/
Sinfest: http://www.sinfest.net/
Surviving the World: http://survivingtheworld.net/

Civil Protection: http://www.accursedfarms.com/movies/cp/
Dragon Ball Z Abridged: http://teamfourstar.com/series/dragonball-z-abridged/
Freeman's Mind: http://www.accursedfarms.com/movies/fm/
Hellsing Ultimate Abridged: http://teamfourstar.com/series/hellsing-ultimate-abridged/

Good Old Games: https://www.gog.com/
Bulbapedia: http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Main_Page


Miscellaneous Links

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: http://plato.stanford.edu/
Online Etymology Dictionary: http://www.etymonline.com/
Wiktionary: https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/Wiktionary:Main_Page
Purdue Online Writing Lab: https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/


American Politics

U.S. Constitution: http://www.archives.gov/exhibits/charters/constitution.html
The Federalist Papers: https://www.congress.gov/resources/display/content/The+Federalist+Papers

On the Issues: http://www.ontheissues.org/default.htm
Project Vote Smart: http://votesmart.org/

Democratic Party: http://www.democrats.org/
Republican Party: https://gop.com/

Libertarian Party: http://www.lp.org/
Reform Party: http://reformparty.org/
Green Party of the U.S.: http://www.gp.org/
Constitution Party: http://www.constitutionparty.com/
Socialist Party U.S.A.: http://www.socialistparty-usa.net/

American Enterprise Institute: http://www.aei.org/
Brookings Institute: http://www.brookings.edu/
CATO Institute: http://www.cato.org/
Centre for American Progress: https://www.americanprogress.org/
Council on Foreign Relations: http://www.cfr.org/


International Politics

UN Universal Declaration of Human Rights: http://www.un.org/en/universal-declaration-human-rights/
Index Mundi: http://www.indexmundi.com/

International of Anarchist Federations: http://i-f-a.org/
International Workers Association: http://www.iwa-ait.org/
Fourth International: http://www.wsws.org/

Socialist International: http://www.socialistinternational.org/
Global Greens: https://www.globalgreens.org/
Progressive Alliance: http://progressive-alliance.info/en/

International Humanist and Ethical Union: http://iheu.org/
Liberal International: http://www.liberal-international.org/site/
World Ecological Parties: http://www.world-ecological-parties.org/statuten.php
Pirate Party International: http://www.pp-international.net/

Centrist Democrat International: http://idc-cdi.com/
International Democrat Union: http://idu.org/
Interlibertarians: http://www.interlibertarians.org/
Monarchy International: http://monarchyinternational.net/


Political Science Resources

Social Progress Index: http://www.socialprogressimperative.org/data/spi
The World Factbook: https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/
World Bank Open Data: http://data.worldbank.org/
Conventional Military Power Index: http://www.globalfirepower.com/

Freedom in the World: https://freedomhouse.org/report/freedom-world/freedom-world-2015#.VuzKcHp2L56
Freedom of the Press: https://freedomhouse.org/report-types/freedom-press#.VPFGZy6zssA
Proportional Representation: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/d/d3/PR_types.png
Your Country / Vote: http://www.icij.org/blog/2014/05/your-country-your-vote-rough-guide-global-voter-restrictions

Better Life Index: http://www.oecdbetterlifeindex.org/#/11111111111
GINI Index: http://data.worldbank.org/indicator/SI.POV.GINI?display=map
Global Innovation Index: https://www.globalinnovationindex.org/content/page/data-analysis
Index of Economic Freedom: http://www.heritage.org/index/heatmap

Animal Protection Index: http://api.worldanimalprotection.org/
CO2 Emissions: http://data.worldbank.org/indicator/EN.ATM.CO2E.PC/countries?display=map
Environmental Performance Index: http://epi.yale.edu/country-rankings
Renewable Electricity List: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_electricity_production_from_renewable_sources

Equaldex: http://www.equaldex.com/
Freedom of Thought Report: http://freethoughtreport.com/map/
Global Peace Index: http://www.visionofhumanity.org/#/page/contact
Multiculturalism Policy Index: http://www.queensu.ca/mcp/

ProQuest and EBSCOhost are recommended for access to peer-reviewed journals but both hide deep web content behind pay walls.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2016, 12:30:22 am by Redalgo »